me & serendipity

I would like to state, on the record, that the title of this blog has absolutely nothing to do with the 2001 film starring John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale by the same name (well, Serendipity rather than serendipitious). Although, John Cusack’s character does use the word “serendipaciousness” in the movie, which is still my favorite made-up variation of the word.

In reality, the word serendipity has been one of my favorite words for a long time. It’s one of those words that you’re just glad that someone thought of. To come upon something pleasant when one wasn’t expecting to. An aptitude for making desirable discoveries by accident. Serendipity was a word that my grandmother used all the time, often by naming everyday occurrences serendipitous. I vividly remember her opening the door to find me standing outside and exclaiming, “It’s serendipity!” and asking, “I’m a what?”

This blog is a way of sharing the serendipitous moments in my life, and here is the first:

This is Mona. She has been my dog for almost thirteen years. She’s very old and mean to the general public these days. Also, she’s deaf, mostly blind and has started sleeping like this. The best part is that you can get as close to her as you want and she won’t wake up until you touch her. There’s just something so sweet about her little tongue sticking out where her teeth used to keep it in. Here’s to geriatric dogs that no one else could love!

Wishing you many moments of serendipity until next time,

anna

2 thoughts on “me & serendipity

  1. What a serendipitous event to have read your blog while also having my tongue peeking out with interest from its slightly ajar mouth.

Leave a Reply

