Blood Oranges, Grapefruit and Goat Cheese, Oh My!

There’s something so pretty about citrus. For real. It’s sort of amazing that these things grow on trees.

I have a confession: I don’t ever buy grapefruits. Don’t get me wrong, I love grapefruits. In fact, if left to my own devices, I would eat nothing else. Until my stomach hurt because of the overwhelming acidity. I know this because I’ve done it before. I bought one of those gigantic bags of grapefruits because it was on sale at the grocery store. And then I proceeded to eat them non-stop until they were gone. A couple of days later, I was on a strict diet of bananas and milk. I’m not kidding. I ate them like it was my job. And I don’t mess around with sugar and those cute little grapefruit knives.

My mom gave me four grapefruits yesterday, but don’t worry–I’ll pace myself.

I did buy some blood oranges the other day. They were on sale. And they’re so pretty! I’ve been eating them in salads.

This one is just mixed greens, goat cheese, and a mix of blood oranges and grapefruit pieces. With oil & vinegar. And a sandwich. Grilled turkey and cheese with pickles.

To make this salad and sandwich, you assemble the ingredients you see pictured. Grill sandwich in a cast iron skillet. And try not to make yourself sick eating citrus this winter.

3 thoughts on “Blood Oranges, Grapefruit and Goat Cheese, Oh My!

  1. Oh my god, Anna.

    I love your blog.
    I haven’t even read this entry, but the new layout (combo of fancy Instagram photos and simple white and grey) is fabulous.

    I just read the entry. I want to blogging about my culinary adventures again. Maybe we can be recipe buddies?

    • Oh my gosh, yes! And you should totally start blogging again. I’m looking at it as an replacement for my academic pursuits… except I’m more excited about it than I was about homework. Let’s be real, I get to eat stuff at the end. Way better.

Leave a Reply

