Pin-spiration Sunday (week two)

This week, I’m taking a break from color. I’m stepping back, simplifying a little. Sometimes, it’s the little things that make it worth getting up every day. It’s being able to sleepily make a pot of coffee, walk outside and gather a few fresh eggs from the chicken coop while the hens are still just beginning to cluck. Sunday mornings should be easy, even if that means they have to be black and white sometimes.

On this sleepy Sunday morning, I give you eight tiny pieces of inspiration that I’ve run into this week. In black and white.

 

1. Cast Iron Design Company‘s logo. Swoon. I love the mix of classic and modern, beginning with the very idea of a cast iron skillet.

2. This photo is one that was submitted to Pioneer Woman’s photography contest. The theme for the contest was love, and (as you can see), most people took that very literally and didn’t think much further than romantic wedding pictures, parents and their kids and MAYBE a grandparent or two. Although this photo of a mama dog and her babies didn’t make the cut, I think it’s one of the better ones.

3. “Whenever I’m asked why Southern writers particularly have a penchant for writing about freaks, I say it is because we are still able to recognize one.” Flannery O’Connor, writer of the Southern Grotesque.

4. I’m crushing hard on this striped blazer from Anthropologie. I’m on the lookout for the cheap version.

5. This one speaks for itself, I’m pretty sure. The image is from Lyla&Blu, and if you love this guy as much as I do, you should listen to this. (Disclaimer: this is the only time I’ll endorse listening to The People’s Pharmacy, it’s usually terrible. But, this week I was pleasantly surprised.)

6. “Shoeshine sign in a Southern Town,” Walker Evans, 1936.

7. These novel posters are way cool. I want one of The World According to Garp.

8. The Geometry of Pasta is a cookbook that discusses the pairing of pasta shapes with sauces to maximize flavor and sauce/pasta ratio. Very cool.

Although I hope your Sunday is bright, shiny, and colorful, take a few minutes somewhere in there and appreciate things in a simple way. The details–the often overlooked black and white things.

Leave a Reply

