Easter Egg Roundup

Naturally Dyed Easter Eggs--the Kitchn

Naturally Dyed Easter Eggs via the Kitchn

This Easter, I’ll be celebrating with waffles instead of Easter eggs. I just got a waffle iron this week, and we’re having friends over to have breakfast for dinner tonight. So, I’m not dying any Easter eggs, but I have been running into these really cool ideas for eggs, and I wanted to share! Even if you just appreciate these eggs for a few minutes and skip the part where your fingers are all dyed blue for days and smell vaguely like vinegar, I think that’s cool. That’s my plan this year. The first option, from thekitchn.com, are dyed with natural dyes–vegetable scraps, in fact! Aren’t the colors great? Between beets, turmeric, red cabbage, and onion skins, you’ll come up with a variety of great colors. I think these would be really fun for an older kid Easter egg hunt because they would actually be hard to find outside.

Watercolor Easter Eggs vis Spoon Fork Bacon

Watercolor Easter Eggs via Spoon Fork Bacon

These watercolor eggs are a little more traditional, but only because they use regular dyes. These are fun because you could make these while everyone else did the usual dipping method of dying. You could even dip and then drip? Lots of possibilities here. They come from SpoonForkBacon.com and would also be a cool adult option. Do adults dye Easter eggs on their own? I don’t know how these things work. Another upside of these: I doubt you would end up with weird pink/green/blue egg salad due to the small amount of dye used. That’s always a plus.

Easter Eggs via Joy Ever After

Easter Eggs via Joy Ever After

These are my favorite. I still might make some of these today, but only because they’re perfect for chicken eggs–imagine those pale blue ones with a white design on them–how pretty! I think the odd-sized, sometimes brown, sometimes blue eggs that we get would be absolutely great like this. Understated but so pretty. These also are like adult Easter eggs–if that’s even a thing. If you dye eggs does that prompt the Easter bunny to come? Does the Easter bunny lay eggs? Are they real eggs or chocolate eggs? Or chocolate bunnies? Isn’t the Easter bunny a boy? And where do the chicks fit in to all this? I’m just generally confused and maybe a little grossed out.

I hope you all have a lovely Easter, and maybe you’ll dye some eggs? Also, don’t think too much about the details of the Easter bunny, it does not end well.

Leave a Reply

