Book #27 Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

silver_linings_playbook_cover_book-455x700This is one of those rare times when I read a book after I see the movie it’s based on. I wish I had read the book first, but I did still enjoy it, even if I couldn’t stop imagining Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, and Robert DeNiro as the main characters.

I feel like I should start by saying that I LOVED THE MOVIE based on this book. Jennifer Lawrence earned every bit of the Oscar she won for her performance, and I never thought I would appreciate Bradley Cooper as an actor after seeing him in The Hangover. He outdid himself. It was definitely the best movie I’ve seen all year.

As for the novel, I did like it. It’s a novel about mental health, really, and how difficult it can be to keep hold on yourself while fighting to keep your head clear. It’s an ultimately heartwarming story of two people, both struggling to cope with massive heartbreak, who eventually find solace in each other’s brokenness. It reminded me how absolutely terrifying it must be to face mental illness, how crippling an inability to cope really is. I have a lot of respect for people who have to face those fears on a daily basis and still manage to thrive. This is one of those books that reminds me that people are good. They’re understanding and loving, sometimes to a fault.

Although I do have to say, you’d be safe to skip the book and go see the movie. It’s really so wonderful. It’ll remind you why being a human is so great, even though it also completely and utterly sucks.

The list so far:

18. Dearie: The Remarkable Life of Julia Child by Bob Spitz

19. Rules of Civility by Amor Towles

20. Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier

21. Heads in Beds by Jacob Tomsky

22. The Commitment by Dan Savage

23. Autobiography of a Face by Lucy Grealy

24. Truth and Beauty by Ann Patchett

25. Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver

26. The Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver

27. Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

4 thoughts on “Book #27 Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

  1. Every weekend i used to go to see this web page, for the
    reason that i wish for enjoyment, since this this website
    conations actually nice funny material too.

  2. Pingback: Book #29: Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris | serendipitous

  3. Pingback: Book #30: The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach | serendipitous

  4. Pingback: Book #31: A Girl Walks Into A Bar by Rachel Dratch | serendipitous

Leave a Reply

