Book #29: Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris

15790837It’s time for yet another book of David Sedaris’ essays, which I have to admit–I absolutely adore. I remember when I was in high school and a friend gave me Me Talk Pretty One Day, which I read in exactly one night. I was immediately enamored with the way that David Sedaris tells stories; he’s so approachable and honest in the way that he remembers things and shares them. When I went to college and began my obsession with This American Life, I discovered that David Sedaris is a regular guest, and I listened every week. There’s this one episode where David Sedaris discusses his father’s interest in having musicians for children, and David impersonates Billie Holiday singing local shopping mall jingles, and I’ve probably heard it 50 times since. It never fails to leave me doubled over with laughter.

Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls is really wonderful. It’s everything you’d hope from David Sedaris: a mixture of tales of iffy parenting set in Raleigh and stories of David’s relationship with his periodontist in France–apparently they’re very close. I listened to this one as an audiobook (read by David) and really enjoyed it immensely. It’s also only 6 hours long, so you could finish it on a long car trip.

The list so far:

18. Dearie: The Remarkable Life of Julia Child by Bob Spitz

19. Rules of Civility by Amor Towles

20. Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier

21. Heads in Beds by Jacob Tomsky

22. The Commitment by Dan Savage

23. Autobiography of a Face by Lucy Grealy

24. Truth and Beauty by Ann Patchett

25. Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver

26. The Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver

27. Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

28. The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

29. Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris

2 thoughts on “Book #29: Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris

  1. Pingback: Book #30: The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach | serendipitous

  2. Pingback: Book #31: A Girl Walks Into A Bar by Rachel Dratch | serendipitous

Leave a Reply

