Homemade Frosty Paws (for dogs, not humans!)

monieBefore you think I’ve gone totally batty, hear me out. Frosty Paws are a frozen treat for dogs–you can get them at the grocery store. I have honestly no idea what’s in them, but I know that Mona LOVES them. But, they’re kind of expensive, so I decided to try making a frozen treat that she would like just as much.

942569_10151983579209554_528983429_nHave you guys met Mona? She’s just the best. She’s a really old jack russell terrier (she’s 15) and she would almost certainly not make it in the real world. She knows who her people are and she’s not very excited about being nice to anyone new. She doesn’t hear or see very well anymore, but she loves to go for walks, smell everything, and snuggle. Most importantly, she’s mine, and I love her to pieces–bad breath and all. She lives with my mom most of the time, but sometimes I’ll keep her for a few weeks at a time. When she comes to our house it’s sort of like summer camp, so I figured I’d make it extra special with a homemade frozen treat.

Also, I’m a crazy dog lady, I confess.

on tableWhen deciding what to put into the mix, I chose all things that Mona already eats occasionally. I also made them into pretty small portions, but you could make them bigger for a bigger dog. I used banana, greek yogurt, a little honey, applesauce, and peanut butter.

bowlI also drizzled a little honey on top to entice her. Because she’s completely and totally spoiled. When I first made these, I froze them into ice cubes, which was a mistake. Mona immediately tried to swallow the whole cube when she couldn’t bite it and I had to carefully extract it from her mouth while she was struggling to get away from me. So, the second time around, I put the mixture into ramekins so that she would have to lick the bowl clean.
close
Here’s the recipe, adapted slightly from Take A Megabite (makes 3 small ramekins, half full)

1/2 c greek yogurt
1/2 banana
1 1/2 teaspoons honey
1 tablespoon peanut butter
2 teaspoons applesauce (unsweetened)

Mash up the banana with a fork and mix everything together. Pour the mixture into the three ramekins, evenly divided, and let freeze for several hours. Put it on the floor and watch your dog chase it around the house, trying to bite the top with their cute little front teeth!

eatingI would watch your dog closely while they eat. Mona kept getting really cold, so she had lots of breaks in between licks. Also, I don’t profess to know anything about dogs and what they should or shouldn’t eat. I do know that Mona can pretty well handle all the ingredients in these treats, but she’s well known to have a stomach of steel. (Seriously, if I named all the gross things she’s eaten in her life, you would probably throw up. And she’d eat that, too.) These don’t give her gas or anything, but be careful with your dog. I’m sure some wouldn’t do well with these ingredients.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Frosty Paws (for dogs, not humans!)

  1. This sounds like a really cool (pun not intended!) treat to make. Honey is so good for dogs too. Going to have to try it!

Leave a Reply

