Quick Pickled Veggie Slaw

DSC_1575I have to confess: I’ve been doing that thing where I’m paralyzed by the blank screen with the blinking cursor. I’ve been trying to find my voice here for a long time, and I really just want it to be true to me. Some days that means I’m going to tell stupid jokes and talk about the weather. On other days, I might tell a story that might be sort of personal, and I’m just as likely to just talk about what it means to cream butter and sugar. I look at other food blogs, and there are some that have these stunning photographs and the author always has something profound and lyrical to say. There are others that just talk food–logistics of how to make a recipe work, step-by-step photos. And there are others still that lean heavily on stories of their cute babies.

DSC_1572

I think I belong somewhere in the middle of all that. Sometimes I have a good cooking tip. Other times, I have a relevant embarrassing story about spilling things in the grocery store, or setting a small fire in the oven. I hope that those things aren’t in competition with each other.

I do know a thing or two about cranking out ambitious cooking projects. If you’re looking for a new cookie to try, or a nice hostess gift for the holidays, you can find something like that here. There are also some pretty solid reset recipes available to get you back on track when you’ve had only cookies for breakfast for a couple of weeks. (There will probably also be a collection of pictures of Jason’s face, just for fun.) I’m glad that y’all are here, reading along, and I hope you like it!

DSC_1595

Today, this is not an ambitious project. It’s super easy, but really impressive. It’s the sort of thing that people see in your fridge and say, “What is this?!” When it’s unexpectedly on a sandwich, they’ll say, “These peppers are so good, what’s on them?”

We’re just talking about thinly sliced peppers, leeks, and carrots. You could also use cucumbers, red onions, sugar snap peas, fennel–any crisp vegetable that might be good with a light pickle-y flavor. The brine is a basic vinegar, salt, sugar, mustard seed situation. This is an ideal way to grab any late-summer, early fall veggies you might have and keep them for a little longer.

For the brine:
(adapted from Food in Jars)

1 cup white vinegar
3 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons kosher salt
1 tablespoon black mustard seeds
1 tablespoon yellow mustard seeds
(you can use all yellow if you can’t find black)
1 cup cold water

Before you make the brine, julianne all of your vegetables and pack them into a jar (about a pint and a half). Put everything into a pot, bring it to a boil  and stir until all the salt and sugar are dissolved. Set aside and let cool. When room temperature, pour it over the vegetables. Close up the jar and keep it in the fridge for 24 hours before eating. The slaw will last 3-4 weeks total.

DSC_1597

Leave a Reply

